Roasted my first batch of coffee. Went a lot quicker than expected. Beans started roasting about 1 minute in. Lol. Sometging tells me I'll have to dial down the heat to super low. Anyways, first batch is super duper dark. Aka burnt. LOL

I'll be roasting again tomorrow for a redo. At least now I can hear the difference between first and second crack. And yes, I'll still try a french press of this stuff in a couple days.
Last update on December 28, 1:47 am by SoCalOCMatt.
Donate Cigars For Troops at:
Matt Post
Troop Donations
4028 Hillside Ave
Norco, CA 92860
Did you say your were roasting in a whirly pop? Just for reference, it usually takes me about 7-10 minutes for a batch. Typically do about a 1/2 pound at a time. That seems to be the sweet spot of making it worth while and not having so much it doesn't roast evenly. I'm no expert by any means, but it tastes good so whatever. Also, make sure you don't seal them in anything for a day or so after you roast them. The beans need to gas out like you after taco Tuesday.

Did you say your were roasting in a whirly pop? Just for reference, it usually takes me about 7-10 minutes for a batch. Typically do about a 1/2 pound at a time. That seems to be the sweet spot of making it worth while and not having so much it doesn't roast evenly. I'm no expert by any means, but it tastes good so whatever. Also, make sure you don't seal them in anything for a day or so after you roast them. The beans need to gas out like you after taco Tuesday.

Yep. Using a whirly pop. I did a 1/2 cup test. I just put them in a ziplock bag and left it about 1/4 open to air out. Any reason not to just put them in an unsealed jar or is too much air in the first 24 hours a bad thing?
Matt Post
Troop Donations
4028 Hillside Ave
Norco, CA 92860
SoCalOCMatt said...